PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Disadvantages of upgrading to 9.04

tosh-l33
July 13th, 2009, 08:55 AM
Im using Intrepid (8.10) now and I am en route (few hours left) to upgrading to Jaunty (9.04). What disadvantages/data losses might I encounter due to this upgrade? Will I still have all my personal stuff like themes, amarok playlists, firefox stored information and other things? And what can be the possible negative effects of using Jaunty? I have never done an upgrade before (Intrepid is my first Ubuntu) so I am unsure of the effects.
Any help will be appreciated, thanx.

PS: n00b here, so please talk in a language I can understand!

Lunx
July 13th, 2009, 09:02 AM
I did a fresh install the other day and realised I didn't have my live CD of Jaunty, so I popped in an Intrepid CD and then as soon as it was installed I ran the upgrade option. Had no problems and everything was back as it should have been once I reinstalled some of my hidden user files I'd backed up first.

Been using 9.04 since February and haven't had a drama with it, runs better than Intrepid did on my machine (sound is a lot better now than it used to be)

tosh-l33
July 13th, 2009, 09:08 AM
Thanx for the response.

"everything was back as it should have been once I reinstalled some of my hidden user files I'd backed up first"---Could you please clarify?

Lunx
July 13th, 2009, 09:11 AM
Will I still have all my personal stuff like themes, amarok playlists, firefox stored information and other things?