PDA

View Full Version : Need to prove the worth of Ubuntu

Tutigan
July 13th, 2009, 01:23 AM
Hi guys, I work in IT as a sysadmin, and have asked if I can use my ubuntu laptop on our domain... this is the e-mail I got back. Please help me answer these and prove the worth of Ubuntu to my senior sysadmins. (I know it's long... sorry)

"Just so you know we are not biased against Linux I would put to you a few questions that I would need to understand about Ubuntu or any Linux distro in a domain environment before it would be considered a serious OS option.
The mention of WINE , Xen or any virtual environment will make your response to that point void.

I estimate I can load and have on the domain a windows OS and cover all of the below business requirements in no longer than 5 hours.
Another sysadmin has been able to demonstrate the MAC OS is mostly capable. Can you do that with Linux?

How in the past have you handled Authentication with a Windows 2003 domain controller?
All our machines are members of the domain.
How will you run the logon scripts?

What antivirus will you be using? (No I do not accept that Linux has no viruses).

How will you access your Exchange mail properly, e.g. see other users shared calendars and access and update your calendar?
What will you do when we move to Exchange 2007 in the next 3-6 months?

Are you positive your printer drivers will support all our printers correctly? Printing a Text file is not the benchmark, one of each of the following products files is a test.

What Office Productivity applications will you use for creating documents that are fully supported by the other users in the workshop.
Word 2007 xml formats
Excel 2007 ď ď
PowerPoint 2007
And the killers are
Visio 2007
Project 2007

How will you create an Office application macro if required for a customer.

How will you access our new intranet which is based on .NET and supports IE and Office application automation?