PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] jaunty issues on my lappy



nnamdi
July 12th, 2009, 06:52 PM
jaunty seems to have alot in memory consuming had to install htop before i noticed it although ie is a very polished Distro anyway am back to hardy. ubuntu for live al the way:lolflag:

ajgreeny
July 12th, 2009, 07:51 PM
What was using all your memory in jaunty? My jaunty install does not use more memory than hardy did, and with nothing except the default gnome, no compiz and no apps open I am using about 200MB.

nnamdi
July 12th, 2009, 11:13 PM
seems that is not u work pc cos u barely dont have anything running on it

ajgreeny
July 13th, 2009, 05:55 PM
You are right. I was just making the point and asking the question, I suppose, about what application(s) was using so much more of your memory in jaunty compared with hardy. Mine seems very similar in both distro versions, but it is just a home machine.

lukeiamyourfather
July 13th, 2009, 06:02 PM
Jaunty shouldn't use much more memory than Hardy if any at all. Its probably the applications using memory. A single Firefox session can easily use more memory than the rest of the operating system combined. Cheers!