PDA

View Full Version : An FF extension to for running commands in a terminal

andrew-sayers
July 12th, 2009, 04:29 PM
I've been helping out lately with a Firefox extension called TerminalRun (http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/9738). It's designed to let absolute beginners know that the terminal exists, and to make it really really easy to run terminal commands:

Actually, I reckon it's pretty handy even if you were born on a command-line. But I'm biased, so what do you guys think? It's still experimental right now, so feedback is very welcome :)

- Andrew

stwschool
July 12th, 2009, 04:39 PM
As someone who is growing to love the terminal, I can tell you that this is useful :)

Marlonsm
July 12th, 2009, 04:49 PM
That's nice.
Just an idea: if possible, make it filter all malicious commands, so it won't erase important files.

lovinglinux
July 12th, 2009, 05:59 PM
I have been using TerminalRun before andrew-sayers stepped in to help the developer and must say this new version is awesome. The integration with ubuntuforums.org is excellent, you can save a script with the command automatically and the status bar displays all commands in a page. This is a must have for any Ubuntu user.

EDIT: screenshots

monsterstack
July 12th, 2009, 06:09 PM
This looks fun. I'll just throw in some random terminal commands so I can test this baby out.

Print "Hello" over and over.

while true; do echo -en "Hello "; sleep 0.5; done

Write some text to a file and display contents of file.

echo "Hello.\nHow's life?" > randomtext.txt
cat randomtext.txt

Get the easter-egg.

apt-get moo

Futurama quote.

curl -Is slashdot.org | egrep '^X-(F|B|L)' | cut -d \- -f 2;

Gogogogo!

andrew-sayers
July 12th, 2009, 06:21 PM

Ooh, that's interesting. For those of you not playing along at home, TerminalRun didn't think that was a terminal command because "while" isn't a program. You can force it with:

#!/bin/bash

I'll have a think about the best way to handle this.

- Andrew

lovinglinux