PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install Ubuntu on Neo B2145N Notebook

yoshimira80
July 12th, 2009, 07:33 AM
Hello Ubuntu world!
forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place, I'm a TOTAL noobie here.
Till now I've never contributed to the forum, only used it to browse for solutions to my own problems. But today, I'm not the only one with my problem and none of my peers having the same problem have been able to find a solution either. So here I beg for your assistance.

I have recently purchased a Neo Basic B2145N laptop. (specs to follow) I have tried to install ubuntu from Feisty Fawn, all the way up to Intrepid Ibex, with no luck.

Using the Live-CD is completely useless. Where the Alternate CD shows promise, it is a let-down when upon reboot, all that comes up is a black screen with a cursor (on all versions) I also tried using the "install inside windows" option of Hardy Heron which yielded the same result, shockingly.

I have also tried to install the "g-OS" operating systems with the same, or similar results.

The specs of my machine are:

•Neo Basic B2145N Notebook
•Intel Pentium Dual Core T3400 Processor
(2.16GHz, 667MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache)
•Memory: 2GB DDR2
•HDD: 250GB SATA
•LCD: 14.1" WXGA
•ODD: DVDRW SuperMulti
•BIOS Version/Date: OEM 1.14, 1/15/2009
•SMBIOS Version: 2.5
•Graphics: SiS Mirage 3 Graphics (128MB RAM)

Does anyone at all have any suggestions of what I might try, to get Ubuntu running on my new laptop?

yoshimira80
July 12th, 2009, 07:37 AM
Also, I should point out:

this laptop has no trouble whatsoever in running windows XP, Vista Ultimate or Windows 7.

note32
July 12th, 2009, 07:42 AM
it might be your graphic card i have had a friend of mine that had the same problem

b@sh_n3rd
July 12th, 2009, 07:45 AM
Hi yoshimira80, welcome to the community!...