PDA

View Full Version : Is Ubuntu still the distro for me in the future

Wim Sturkenboom
July 11th, 2009, 01:20 PM
I started playing with Warty Warthog in the early days of Ubuntu. I felt very comfortable with it (my previous Red Hat skills could still be applied).

When I bought a new PC, it became a dual boot (WinXP / Dapper Drake, now WinXP / Hardy Heron). Somewhere along the line I noticed that changing runlevels (init 3 or so) no longer took me to a text only interface. I also noticed something like upstart (an approach that I can understand).

Just reading in a thread here that the <ctrl><alt><backspace> functionality has been disabled in Jaunty Jackalope. Doing some research about the why revealed the biggest crap reason that I can imagine (users can press it by accident). Yeah, they can also push the reset button by accident.

I'm not against changes although I might have some difficulty to adapt, but I have two problems with all these changes:
1)
I will have difficulty to fix problems on my system as my knowledge no longer applies.
2)
I'm becoming very reluctant to help people here when it comes to setup and configuration as whatever I know might no longer apply so I put users on the wrong foot.

I'm still a very happy Ubuntu desktop user (spending about 98% of my time on my system in Ubuntu) as it has always worked on my hardware but I wonder if the next LTS is still for me?

Does anybody have similar sentiments? Or is it just me?

WimS

hansdown
July 11th, 2009, 01:39 PM
Hi Wim Sturkenboom.

You can enable ctrl+alt+backspace in 9.04.

http://lifehacker.com/5259425/re+enable-ctrl+alt+backspace-for-ubuntu-904

There have been a few changes, but most cli commands stay pretty much the same.

Skripka has a better way in the post below.

http://reformedmusings.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/enabling-ctrl-alt-backspace-in-ubuntu-904-jaunty/

Skripka
July 11th, 2009, 01:45 PM
FYI-