PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] built in video driver pavilion 6736

gfarcester
July 11th, 2009, 05:59 AM
ok so i am very new to linux the bigest experence i have had with it is at my school where they stop you from doing anything and evrything there making my knowledge minimal for the moment... i have just installed ubuntu on my HP pavilion 6736 desktop and the screen is a little buggy atm i have checked search and not found anything to help me i phoned my father who uses linux {ubuntu} at his work on a regular basis but he cant help me much knows the problem and said to come here so pardon my being a newb but i was wondering if theres any way i could...
A) find the hardwhere on my box and
B) if any of you could direct me to the corect drivers i need

{additional info}
running on an HP pavilion desktop with intel motherboard {what type i have no clue i think celeron but not sure on that one} using built in video and sound for the machine

any other info that you may need i am willing to give so long as you give me the way to get it

PS: if this is in the wrong section feal free to move it but send me a PM to where it is if you do as evry time a thred is moved of mine on some other forum it tends to get lost and i cant find it again

QIII
July 11th, 2009, 08:20 AM
Without sending you to the terminal, the easiest thing to do in a graphical environment would be this:

Go to Applications | Add/Remove

In the search box, type "sysinfo" (no quotes)

Select and install it.

You will have a menu selection under Applications | System Tools.

Poke around in that for a bit. Get back with things like CPU, Graphic Card, Sound Card, amount of memory and the like.

gfarcester
July 12th, 2009, 06:43 AM