PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot Windows 7rc and 9.04

inxs
July 10th, 2009, 03:39 AM
I am a newb to ubuntu, so I installed windows 7rc and 9.04 on separate partitions of my 320 GB drive on my laptop.

I do not want to manually select the OS every time I boot up the laptop. I want the laptop to automatically select Windows within ~5 seconds or allow me to hit a key so I can choose between Windows or 9.04. I would like to easily change the primary OS once I get accustomed to Ubuntu.

What program will easily allow me to set up this type of configuration? I don't care if it is a Windows or Ubuntu application right now.

Thanks for your help.

My laptop is a thinkpad t61, although that shouldn't make much of a difference.

louieb
July 10th, 2009, 03:52 AM
Grub the boot manager installed with Ubuntu can be set up to do just that.

Probably the easiest way to set up grub is to open System>administration>Synaptic Package Manager. and install the package starupmanager . You can use it to configure Gurb.

I just manually edit /boot/grub/menu.lst GrubHowto - Community Ubuntu Documentation (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GrubHowto#head-1296ce2b184032373f19ad50a91d506eb886ac5f)

Mark Phelps
July 10th, 2009, 04:12 PM
I do not want to manually select the OS every time I boot up the laptop. I want the laptop to automatically select Windows within ~5 seconds or allow me to hit a key so I can choose between Windows or 9.04.

Actually, you don't need a program in order to do this. There is a GRUB boot menu that is hidden by default and it also selects the first OS in the list by default.

To change both, open a terminal, cd to /boot/grub , and edit your menu.lst file by entering "gksudo gedit menu.lst".

Once in the file, you will find a line that says "default" with a number, usually "0" (zero). You need to change that to the stanza # that matches your MS Windows entry. You may have to experiment to get it right.