PDA

View Full Version : Conky with 16 CPU



lukeiamyourfather
July 9th, 2009, 11:15 PM
The system I'm using has 16 processing cores (four socket Opteron system with quad cores) and I'd like to setup Conky to show all of them. If it try this in the .conkyrc, everything after 10 shows up as zero.



TEXT

${cpugraph cpu1}
${cpugraph cpu2}
${cpugraph cpu3}
${cpugraph cpu4}
${cpugraph cpu5}
${cpugraph cpu6}
${cpugraph cpu7}
${cpugraph cpu8}
${cpugraph cpu9}
${cpugraph "cpu10"}
${cpugraph "cpu11"}
${cpugraph "cpu12"}
${cpugraph "cpu13"}
${cpugraph "cpu14"}
${cpugraph "cpu15"}
${cpugraph "cpu16"}


Same with anything else that uses the cpuN variable. Am I using this incorrectly or is there a bug in Conky that will only allow 10 CPU to be monitored? Thanks for the help. Cheers!

Cam42
July 9th, 2009, 11:29 PM
Why are the quotes around the last 7?

lukeiamyourfather
July 9th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Why are the quotes around the last 7?

Oh yeah, forgot about those. With the quotes they all show the exact same information that isn't correct like they are all referencing the first CPU or something else that all returns the same number, and without quotes they show zero.

lukeiamyourfather
July 9th, 2009, 11:55 PM
Maybe this will help to clarify what's going on since its broke either way. Screens and code for each configuration using Conky 1.6.1 on Ubuntu 9.04 (default version of Conky in the repository). First one is the TEXT portion of the .conkyrc with quotes.


TEXT

${cpugraph "cpu1" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu2" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu3" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu4" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu5" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu6" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu7" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu8" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu9" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu10" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu11" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu12" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu13" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu14" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu15" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu16" 30,256}

Here's the TEXT portion of the .conkyrc without quotes. This seems to break CPU2 as well?


TEXT

${cpugraph cpu1 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu2 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu3 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu4 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu5 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu6 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu7 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu8 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu9 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu10 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu11 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu12 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu13 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu14 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu15 30,256}
${cpugraph cpu16 30,256}

The screen captures of each are attached, quote or no quote is in the title of the image. Seems like there's something in the code of Conky that breaks with more than 10 CPU. Maybe someone can confirm this or maybe has a workaround, or suggestion? Cheers!

juancarlospaco
July 10th, 2009, 12:28 AM
Conky Bug ...?

lukeiamyourfather
July 10th, 2009, 12:57 AM
Conky Bug ...?

I guess so. :(

Does the syntax look correct for the graph? Right now I'm downloading the source for Conky 1.7.1.1 to compile and see if there's any difference compared to 1.6.1 in Ubuntu.

lukeiamyourfather
July 13th, 2009, 05:54 PM
I sent an email to the Conky mailing list, not a single reply. :-k

Vadi
July 13th, 2009, 06:09 PM
Seems like a bug that it's not allowing double-digits.

JillSwift
July 13th, 2009, 06:13 PM
This may well just be silly, but what if the digits are really in hex?
Try :


...
${cpugraph "cpu8" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu9" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpuA" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpuB" 30,256}
...

hanzomon4
July 13th, 2009, 07:34 PM
What do you use 16 CPUs for?

tom66
July 13th, 2009, 08:45 PM
Servers?

lukeiamyourfather
July 13th, 2009, 09:16 PM
This may well just be silly, but what if the digits are really in hex?
Try :


...
${cpugraph "cpu8" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpu9" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpuA" 30,256}
${cpugraph "cpuB" 30,256}
...

That was a good idea, but it doesn't seem to work. The values default to "cpu0" which is the average of all processors. I'll submit a bug and hope it gets read? If I knew C I'd dive in myself but all I know right now is Python. Cheers!

lukeiamyourfather
July 13th, 2009, 09:17 PM
What do you use 16 CPUs for?

The link in my signature shows some of my work. Mostly fluid simulations for animation and film visual effects. Cheers!

JillSwift
July 13th, 2009, 09:29 PM
The link in my signature shows some of my work. Mostly fluid simulations for animation and film visual effects. Cheers!
Your 2008 demo reel clip is very cool =^_^=

Kithera
April 3rd, 2012, 08:21 PM
I have a suspicion, I think they are just looking at that first character, and doing a blind ASCII to integer conversion. If that's the case, you could try just adding the next character in ASCII to see what happens.

Using the chart here, and noting that '9' is decimal 57, the character for 58 is ':'. What does "cpu:" do?