PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Bizarre string of problems

litlfrog
July 9th, 2009, 09:28 PM
I'm close to actual tears here. My new installation of Ubuntu worked great for about a day, then when I rebooted, I got as far as the Ubuntu loading screen with a progress bar. After that, I get a lot of random colored bars and boxes. (If I boot from a live CD, everything looks fine.) I gave up waiting for an answer and decided to just reinstall, but when I try to tell the Ubuntu to use the whole disk and the partition editor starts, it comes back saying "ext3 filesystem creation failed." I don't have the option to use Windows because this is a work computer and we don't have any more copies. I've used Linux off and on for a couple of years, but I'm far from an expert and no one else knows anything about it. I can't go back to the initial installation of Ubuntu because the partition has been wiped and there's no one here who can get a new hard drive out of storage. What can I do to get Ubuntu reinstalled?

phillw
July 9th, 2009, 10:35 PM
Can u get hold of an install CD for Ubuntu ?

If so - and this may well be a sledge hammer to break a nut.

Try going into the install Ubuntu, only select manual partitioning, delete the (possibly) poorly ext3 partion and try re-creating it.

Obviously, you would lose any work saved on there - but, via the Install CD you can switch to liveCD mode & copy documents etc from your ~/home directory to a folder in your windows partition.

One of the more technical people may have a more elegant solution, but that's at least something to have a think about.

Hope you get it sorted soon.

Regards,

Phill.

coffeecat
July 9th, 2009, 10:38 PM
I really don't know whether what I am about to suggest will work, but if I was in your situation this is what I would try. Be warned that this will definitely destroy any data on the drive, but it sounds as though you've gone beyond the point of no return anyway.