PDA

View Full Version : How geeks control their computer???

renbla
July 8th, 2009, 05:07 PM
What i want to know is: do geeks do every thing by typing in the terminal????, can they remember every single little detail about every command??? Some stuffs can be done also by typing in terminal or in GUI, so what is the better way to go??? Doing in GUI is easier and less headache, but doing in terminal seems like more professional and help building the commands in our heads. An example is installing a software: you can compile from source or you can install from deb file, alot of ppl say just use deb file, but using them in my opinion is just like in windows, what's the diffrent?? Just some clicks and then you issue the program from the menu and that's it, no more no less??? So if i want to be very good in linux, should i always steak with CLI???. I'm totally in love with the typing thing but sometime it just drives me crazy(bcoz i'm a newbie) :neutral:. So how should i make my way to a geekrank??? (srr for the bad English):razz:

Bart_D
July 8th, 2009, 05:10 PM
...I'm totally in love with the typing.....

Hehe.....:lolflag::lolflag:

I would prefer mouse clicks.

Better wait for a 100% geek to post.

gletob
July 8th, 2009, 05:15 PM
Ok where you said the GUI is easier let's look:

GUI:
1. System>Admin>Synaptic
2. Reload packages
3. search for sunbird
4. right click hit install
5. wait and hit close.

or

CLI (terminal)
1. open terminal
2. type sudo apt-get update
3 type sudo apt-get install sunbird

Which is easier?

Simian Man
July 8th, 2009, 05:17 PM
What i want to know is: do geeks do every thing by typing in the terminal????, can they remember every single little detail about every command???
I remember the commands that I use often along with the options and parameters that I use most often of those commands. For the stuff you can't remember, just use man pages or the --help option.