PDA

View Full Version : PHP forms - asking for user confirmation after taking $_POST from a form

akvino
July 8th, 2009, 04:38 PM
I ran into a problem last night, maybe because I am not too good with processing forms or I need to seriously go over the Static/ Global variables again. All in all I failed to produce desired result so I am asking for help.

Description of the problem in simplified terms:

I have a file1.php that will call via form action=file2.php, where file2.php gets the $_POST data then used to instantiate the object and delete files selected in the form on file1.php from the database.

What I would like to do is add additional radio button call upon selection of the file to be deleted asking user for confirmation - simple YES or NO. Then use the input to either process the deletion or abort. It does not have to be radio button - but for heavens - please give me code snippet and brief info on how is this best done?

I had the largest problem calling another form once I collected data from the first form, since I failed to use global variable and store the entries. I am working on getting familiar with GLOBAL variable, but in the mean time would like to know the correct way to do it.

CrazyMonkeyFox
July 8th, 2009, 05:12 PM
Show us your code, so we can work with it. We don't know what you have and what you don't. Use the php code tags, when posting your code i.e
[~php]
Your code here
[~/php]

Without the tilda (~)

Mirge
July 8th, 2009, 06:11 PM
Please don't use register_globals..

akvino
July 8th, 2009, 06:17 PM
My code file1:

print("<h3>Delete a Band: </h3>");
print ("<hr><br><br>");

function delete_band()
{
//calling file with the object handle for MySQL connecting object
include "connect.php";

//calling function within connect.php which will return object
$mysqli=connect();

//build sql query
//$sql = "INSERT INTO bands (name) VALUES ('".$bandName."')";
$sql = "SELECT band_name FROM bands ORDER BY band_name";