PDA

View Full Version : Question about purchased MP3s

LinuxFox
July 8th, 2009, 02:14 PM
I have a question about music I purchased. I recently bought some music from Amazon MP3, after I found out they're listed on the RIAA legal site list and are DRM-free. When I bought the songs, I didn't have access to my computer, so I bought them on another computer.

Is it ok to transfer the songs I legally bought to my computer? I don't want to break any laws or anything, I just want to enjoy music I bought. They are DRM-free which was one of the reasons why I chose the site.

Please answer my question, I'm still new to buying online music. Please no anti-RIAA or support indie music type comments, I just want an answer.

bekind2thenoob
July 8th, 2009, 02:19 PM
From Amazon UK (emphasis mine)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/dmusic/help/faq.html/ref=amb_link_80900365_1?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=left-2&pf_rd_r=0DHY45QX0BCW7G8WW772&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=465322913&pf_rd_i=77197031#listen

Manage Your Music Your Way
Once you've downloaded your music, you can use whichever media player application you prefer to manage it, such as iTunes or Windows Media Player. Learn more about managing your downloads.

MP3 Players Songs from Amazon MP3 can be played on any MP3-capable device, including iPods, Zunes, Zens, iPhones, RAZRs, BlackBerrys, and most media-enabled mobile phones. Our files are free of digital rights management (DRM) software, so you can burn your songs to CDs, play them on all your computers, and transfer them to all your devices. Songs are encoded at 256 kbps (learn more about MP3 bitrates), which means you get high audio quality at a manageable file size.

LinuxFox
July 8th, 2009, 02:32 PM
Thanks, I just wanted to know if I'm in the clear. I did burn the music to data CD for myself. It's good to know there's nothing wrong with transferring them to my own computer.

Chronon
July 8th, 2009, 05:50 PM