PDA

View Full Version : How to correctly uninstall evolution? eee pc 901 UNR

bunkertruck
July 7th, 2009, 01:47 AM
I'm trying to keep my 8gb partition clean of everything I can and realize I don't need evolution. How do I correctly uninstall evolution without removing other important files? If there is anything else that I could uninstall that takes up useful space could you let me know?

Thank you,
Bunkers

wojox
July 7th, 2009, 01:57 AM
Check this out

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/purexfce

bunkertruck
July 7th, 2009, 02:14 AM
wojox, it looks as though that long command will remove many things. can you generally explain what it will do if I run it? Of course, I'm still learning the universe outside of windows and mac.

thanks

wojox
July 7th, 2009, 02:20 AM
Scroll down to the evolution part and just use those for uninstalling evolution.

tripzilch
August 26th, 2010, 03:20 PM
Scroll down to the evolution part and just use those for uninstalling evolution.

Heh. I just did that, wasn't paying attention entirely, so I got this:

tripzilch@tripzilch-netbook:~$ sudo apt-get remove evolution evolution-common evolution-couchdb evolution-data-server evolution-data-server-common evolution-exchange evolution-indicator evolution-plugins evolution-webcal
[sudo] password for ritz:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package evolution-couchdb is not installed, so not removed
The following packages will be REMOVED:
evolution evolution-common evolution-data-server evolution-data-server-common evolution-exchange
evolution-indicator evolution-plugins evolution-webcal gnome-applets gnome-panel gnome-session
indicator-applet indicator-applet-session indicator-me libedataserverui1.2-8 ubuntu-netbook
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 16 to remove and 3 not upgraded.
After this operation, 87.8MB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
(Reading database ... 128300 files and directories currently installed.)