PDA

View Full Version : should I go back to linux?

kashey_be
July 6th, 2009, 08:45 PM
hey,
I have been using linux for 2 years, then went to xp because of game support.
recently "downgraded" to vista64, though hell I'll try it and see what happens.
well shi*t happened and now i'm thinking of either trying win7 or putting back linux (since i don't game so much nowdays).
I'll need some software replacement , and ask for your recommendation:

mathtype
java IDE ( eclipse should do i assume )
c++ IDE ( ??? heard eclipse has plugin for cpp support ??? )
oh and someone please recommend some good pdf viewer ( not that crap gnome is provided with - and not okular it sucks)

thanks in advance!

dragos240
July 6th, 2009, 08:48 PM
hey,
I have been using linux for 2 years, then went to xp because of game support.
recently "downgraded" to vista64, though hell I'll try it and see what happens.
well shi*t happened and now i'm thinking of either trying win7 or putting back linux (since i don't game so much nowdays).
I'll need some software replacement , and ask for your recommendation:

mathtype
oh and someone please recommend some good pdf viewer ( not that crap gnome is provided with - and not okular it sucks)

thanks in advance!
Please don't say that word here. But it's up to you, you can come back any time you want, we'll welcome you back with open arms.

Bölvağur
July 6th, 2009, 08:50 PM

Eclipse might be an overkill.
Eclipse with plugin for c++ was an overkill for me, try Geany for small and "medium" size projects.
brb

RiceMonster
July 6th, 2009, 08:52 PM
hey,
mathtype

Netbeans can handle java (well duh) and C++ as well. I recommend you give it a try. It's pretty nice.

camper365
July 6th, 2009, 08:54 PM
Most Linux developers don't need an IDE for C++. Most of them just use a text editor and a terminal with g++. However, I have heard of anjuta, which is a c++ ide in the repos.

Tibuda
July 6th, 2009, 08:54 PM