PDA

View Full Version : Looking for reasons to install this! =)

bchan009
July 6th, 2009, 05:31 PM
Hey guys,

Been thinking of installing Ubuntu for a while now, but seeing as how I'm going to have to sit down and spend a fair bit of time setting my Macbook Pro to triple boot, I was just wondering if there were any really good reasons for me to be using Linux.

I'm an animation student, so my trade requires me to run OSX. I'm a gamer, so I also run Windows. What should I be using Ubuntu for?

Also, does Xubuntu take up less hard drive space? Is it as user-friendly as normal Ubuntu? If so, I'll go with that one because HD space on my laptop is a precious commodity. :KS

Simian Man
July 6th, 2009, 05:43 PM
If OSX and Windows are working well for you, I honestly wouldn't bother installing Linux on your laptop. Instead I'd setup Linux in a virtual machine like VirtualBox. You will have almost all of the benefits of running a Linux system without having to further partition your hard drive.

As for why you should be running Linux, you will just have to try it out and see for yourself. If you enjoy computers, chances are you will love it :).

heyyy
July 6th, 2009, 05:55 PM
well i run linux because it's fast,stable,secure and free(on most occations at least)

swoll1980
July 6th, 2009, 06:25 PM
Hey guys,

Been thinking of installing Ubuntu for a while now, but seeing as how I'm going to have to sit down and spend a fair bit of time setting my Macbook Pro to triple boot, I was just wondering if there were any really good reasons for me to be using Linux.

I'm an animation student, so my trade requires me to run OSX. I'm a gamer, so I also run Windows. What should I be using Ubuntu for?

Also, does Xubuntu take up less hard drive space? Is it as user-friendly as normal Ubuntu? If so, I'll go with that one because HD space on my laptop is a precious commodity. :KS