PDA

View Full Version : python help

c0mput3r_n3rD
July 6th, 2009, 02:42 AM
Hey all!
I'm just learning python on ubuntu, which is v2.5 (already installed), but I can't find a tutorial for v2.5, only v2.6.2. Can any one help me out with either upgrading and/or a tutorial on v2.5, which I should do

thanks a lot

Can+~
July 6th, 2009, 02:57 AM
You're on Intrepid? I don't know if there's an available version of python 2.6 from the repository for that version. Try to check on synaptic.

If not, well, there's not much difference between 2.5.2 to 2.6, so I guess you could still learn from the documentation. Or install python3.

btw: In case you're wondering, there's no problem on installing two different versions of python at the same time; I've got python2.6 and 3 installed at the same time.

c0mput3r_n3rD
July 6th, 2009, 03:01 AM
Yeah I just checked synaptic, and their are a million versions haha, so that didn't really help to much. And I thought their wouldn't be a huge difference b/t 2.5 and 2.6 either, how ever as the programs will run, the results are not correct, even when the syntax is. hmmmmm. :-\

Can+~
July 6th, 2009, 03:06 AM
Yeah I just checked synaptic, and their are a million versions haha, so that didn't really help to much. And I thought their wouldn't be a huge difference b/t 2.5 and 2.6 either, how ever as the programs will run, the results are not correct, even when the syntax is. hmmmmm. :-\

What problems do you experience? Try to show some code and I may point you what's wrong.

c0mput3r_n3rD
July 6th, 2009, 03:16 AM
#! /usr/bin/env python
for n in range(2, 10):
for x in range(2, n):
if n % x == 0:
print n, 'equal', x, '*', n/x
break
else:
#loop feel throughw with out finding a factor
print n, 'is a prime number'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Output:

3 is a prime number
4 equal 2 * 2
5 is a prime number
5 is a prime number
5 is a prime number
6 equal 2 * 3
7 is a prime number