PDA

View Full Version : Refusing to be people's free tech support

stwschool
July 6th, 2009, 02:08 AM
So here's my story. I'm a computer nerd, like most of us here I suspect. I work in a school. I have the same teaching load as other teachers, but in order to keep the school functioning I tend to do extra stuff like making sure our computers work etc. So my hours are probably 1.5x other teachers workloads.

Now the thing is, every little problem, people would come to me. It's nice to be wanted, but it eventually gets very draining. I never got a lunch break, cos I'd have a queue of at least 5 people wanting help with something. Anyway, two weeks ago something happened which was enlightening. I was poking around a knackered computer and of course, being a Windows machine, it was riddled with crap. Now I know what the user does, and linux would be perfect for them, as it covers all the bases. So I suggested it as a solution, and the response was "no I'll just take it to the repair shop instead". Now that probably sounds quite insignificant, but it put a lightbulb above my head.

I realised that this teacher was not asking me for technical support out of respect for my opinion or my abilities, but because I was free (as in beer), and the computer shop was not. It then struck me that that was the case in school in general. It also began to occur to me that I was helping people to make the wrong decisions by shielding them from the true consequences of their IT choices, as after all they never had to pay for fixes.

So the solution? I have now quit IT support in school, except for the users I've installed Linux for as I have a responsibility to those, having given them something unusual. To say that the freedom has been wonderful is an understatement. I'm getting free time at lunch, I'm getting more time to do my own work, and it feels like I have a life again. So no more free technical support. I'm not the IT shop!