PDA

View Full Version : Troubles with my Website.

imhdd
January 21st, 2006, 06:17 PM
Hello Ubuntu Community. I'm a newbie and I don't really know where to post this question, so I'll try here. (I feel sort of out of place, being a newbie at 73 years old, ha. At this age it's hard to be new at anything.)

I have a personal Website. I built it using an editor called Web Studio, which is a great program optimized for use in IE. I began using Firefox 1.5 with Windows and I had to do a lot of work to make my site compatible with both browsers - but it worked.

Now that I'm trying to learn Kubuntu, my site doesn't view correctly with Firefox 1.0.7.
Does anyone know whether it's because Firefox for Windows is different from Firefox for Linux; or is it because my Windows version is 1.5 and my Linux version is 1.0.7?

My site totals 240 pages and covers several topics. Revising it all over again is not an option that I want to persue. The address is:

http://imhdd.ms11.net/

Thank you for any suggestions.

BWF89
January 21st, 2006, 06:25 PM
The website worked just fine on my Windows XP box running Firefox 1.5 when I enabled JavaScript for your website.

mstlyevil
January 21st, 2006, 06:33 PM
It is displaying correctly on Ubuntu 5.10 with FF 1.5 and java script enabled also. If you want to install FF 1.5 and some other apps the easy way here is a link to Automatix. Automatix is a graphical interface for new users that installs the most popular software and codecs for you. You only have to copy and paste two commands in the terminal to install Automatix and the rest is done by GUI.

Automatix (Firefox1.5) (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=80295)

imhdd
January 21st, 2006, 06:34 PM
Thanks BWF89. I didn't know how it would look in XP. I and most of my friends still use Win98SE. Can you try it with Firefox in Linux?

Virogenesis
January 21st, 2006, 06:38 PM