PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install, acpi_pss errors

smakand
July 3rd, 2009, 10:53 PM
Hey all, I've been using linux (as primary) for a few years now on my laptop and past desktops, but I've recently tried to install some version of linux on my gaming desktop to experiment with some things.

I have a k9a2 platinum mother board, ( http://bit.ly/Tzhzi ) and I originally tried to install fedora 11, which claimed to be missing a cd-rom driver, and then ubuntu studio 9.04, which also claimed to be missing a cd-rom driver.

I'm now onto trying Ubuntu 9.04, and it reports an error similar to this:

> Powernow-K8: Your BIOS does not provide ACPI_ objects in a way that LINUX understands. Please report this to LINUX ACPI_ Maintainers. I tried installing without any f6 options, and with checking 'acpi=off', and with checking 'acpi=off, noapic, nolapic'. Checking all three of these reports an apci not found? (Will update with proper error message).

All the searching I've done has had answers involving raid drivers, I am not running a raid of any sort, and the solutions to these problems involve compiling a kernel with some modifications, I'm not really up to doing that, especially if it's not garunteed to even be related to my problem.

The other thing I notice is that the motherboard reports an error
No array is defined, press cntrl-f to enter fast boot utility, it has always done this and has never posed a problem for various windows installs. I tried pressing ctrl-f, but none of the options work (unresponsive), and I end up just exiting.

Thanks for your help!

Specifications for motherboard:
http://us.msi.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=K9A2_Platinum&class=mb

smakand
July 4th, 2009, 12:07 AM
Alright, slight update. I notice that these errors flash on the screen before the Ubuntu installer dumps me into BusyBody? terminal, which says to me maybe these issues aren't what's stopping the install.

NaseEder
July 8th, 2009, 09:33 PM
same problem here.