PDA

View Full Version : Small PC Distributor to Stick with Ubuntu

nu2rage
July 3rd, 2009, 08:21 PM
Fellow Ubuntu users,

I am new to the Ubuntu forums and own a small IT firm and love the Ubuntu platform and philosophy. I like using it and it provides a logical solution for the licensing of OS's. I've seen companies try this in the past with older flavors of Linux, however I feel that Ubuntu is a new animal.

I just wanted to get some community input (pitfalls, encouragement) before proceeding. I know that many users that can move themselves over to Ubuntu can probably handle the hardware as well, so I figure my target would be your more basic PC user (internet, email, games, wordprocesser)

Let me know what you guys think!

Thanks,
www.netrage.org

wandalalakers
July 3rd, 2009, 09:24 PM
As far as the (internet, email, games, wordprocesser), I use Firefox, Thunderbird and OpenOffice. I don't play any games with Ubuntu. I say go for it. You will save a lot of money, and not have to deal with viruses and spyware. It's also updated every six months. You can can also use Ubuntu as a windows emergency CD or DVD. Can Micro$oft say that? H no!

tvtech
July 3rd, 2009, 09:36 PM
pitfalls- user acceptance and learning curve. While most of the programs are similar and comparable they are not comparable to MS's newest releases. Open office 3.1 is a great office suite and definitely an equal to msoffice 2003 but it's at least 2-3 release cycles behind ms office 2007.