PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual drive/boot

foxyid
July 3rd, 2009, 04:29 PM
I am totally new to linux/ubuntu.

I have read through the basics of installation and dual-booting and everything seemed straightforward.
But since I had some unanswered questions, I ventured into the forums for more informaion, and what seemed to be "simple" when i started off, has become more and more complicated. Maybe someone can bring me back to that simple state.

I already have WindowsXP installed and want to install Ubuntu on my second hard drive (300gb); I use this second HD for Windows' paging file and for backup/storage (an extended partion of 200gb), so I have about 100gb for Ubuntu, which should be more than enough.

Is this setup acceptable? Is there a preferable position for Ubuntu's disk partition or can Ubuntu reside anywhere on the HD?

I want Ubuntu to access the Data/Media I have on my first HD, in an extended NTFS partition. I am assuming this should not be a problem. Are there any issues that I should be aware of?

How should I partion Ubuntu? When do I do this, during installation or after?

Thanks for all of the help.

Idefix82
July 3rd, 2009, 04:43 PM
Hello and welcome!

Your plan is completely reasonable and you should have no problems along the way. Ubuntu should automatically recognise the ntfs partitions after you install it.

You should have at least two partitions for Ubuntu, one for the main system (mount point /) and one so called SWAP partition. The latter will be used for example for hibernate when Ubuntu will write the entire memory into the SWAP. As such, it should have about the size of your RAM. It will also be used if your RAM doesn't suffice, but personally I never had that happen.