PDA

View Full Version : Python + GTK+ + Headache!!!

Empire537
July 3rd, 2009, 07:22 AM
I'm a professional python programmer exploring GTK+, I'm very satisfied. One think I want to know is this:

Is it possible to do a function on every keystroke? So whenever you press a key a status updates? I want it do display you're current line and total lines in a text file. The only way I can think of doing it would be to set it up like this:

def update(self):
do_my_update

if keystroke:
self.update()

is this possible? If so how?

In case you've guessed I'm using a TextView.

unutbu
July 3rd, 2009, 01:53 PM
Every gtk.TextView has an associated gtk.TextBuffer. (gtk.TextView.get_buffer()...)

Every gtk.TextBuffer emits a "changed" signal whenever the buffer is changed. (See http://www.pygtk.org/pygtk2reference/class-gtktextbuffer.html).

So if you connect a callback for the "changed" signal, you should be able to self.update() whenever a key is pressed.

nvteighen
July 3rd, 2009, 01:58 PM
Use a signal. GtkTextBuffer (which you usually have to use when using a GtkTextView) provides the "changed" signal.

Edit: Seems I've been defeated in speed! :p

Empire537
July 3rd, 2009, 05:16 PM
I read up on the dogs. The problem is. I have to change the current line when I clickwith the mouse. And when I move the cursor posi with the arrow keys.

bapoumba
July 3rd, 2009, 05:57 PM
One post removed from this thread.

Can+~
July 3rd, 2009, 07:35 PM
I read up on the dogs. The problem is. I have to change the current line when I clickwith the mouse. And when I move the cursor posi with the arrow keys.

Sometimes to find an event, instead of googling it up, I end up looking in glade for the signal name

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v517/CanXp/screenshot1-3.png

One post removed from this thread.

what happend?

bapoumba
July 3rd, 2009, 07:49 PM
what happend?
Oh, some non-constructive comment :)

Empire537
July 3rd, 2009, 08:37 PM