PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can I save data during reinstall?

flatbeard
July 2nd, 2009, 10:11 PM
Hi all
My Ubuntu 9.04 crashed a few days ago, and I'm trying to save the data on the hard drive. I can easily install Ubuntu again, but it wants to wipe my HD completely. Can I avoid this and just do a simple "repair installation and overwrite all the system files" installation?
All I really need is access to the hard drive so that I can get my files out. From that point, I can just reformat the entire thing...

But is there no "repair faulty installtion" option with Ubuntu? I tried Ubuntu Rescue Remix, but didn't understand one word of it ... should I give it another go?

Please be aware that I am a beginner in terms of Linux. If you write any console stuff, please write very slowly and gently...

Harrg, all ye ubuntah luvvers!! :)
Flatbeard

merlinus
July 2nd, 2009, 10:13 PM
You can boot from the live cd, and mount your ubuntu partition by clicking on in it nautilus. Then you should be able to rescue important data.

And you may wish to consider creating a separate partition for /home upon reinstall. That way you will not have to do this again.

flatbeard
July 4th, 2009, 12:25 PM
You can boot from the live cd, and mount your ubuntu partition by clicking on in it nautilus. Then you should be able to rescue important data.

And you may wish to consider creating a separate partition for /home upon reinstall. That way you will not have to do this again.

Excellent!! (Do the dead ant!!) Im saving all my files now. Just one thing to go, and thats my email files. Theyre located in a hidden directory under /home/.mozilla-thunderbird ... but how can I get access to those files?
I tried just to enter via nautilus and via a terminal and cd, but no go. sudo cd is the same. Hmm ... any ideas?

Ill be back on that separate partition ... good idea. Sigh ...

Regards
flatbeard

ronparent
July 4th, 2009, 02:26 PM