PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] a network that can be seen but not fully used (large read)

SObailey
July 2nd, 2009, 08:22 PM
Hello Ubuntu world, I've been a long time viewer but this is my first time asking a question. So Please bare with me. I'm also not well versed in computer language( thats probably why I've just viewed).
I have a fairly large Network that is not working right. All linux machines are using Samba. All the computers can see each other but only one(hp a1720n running PCLinuxOS 07)can interact with all the rest. The 2nd computer(emachine 2.5GHz running Windows XP with all the updates)can see all and interact with only the PCLOS, DNS 323 storage, HP 7920 running Ubuntu 5.04 & a Itronix laptop running XP Pro with all the updates and is the only wireless (d-link). The laptop sees and interacts just like emachine. Here's where the trouble starts. Neither of the XP's can interact with the Compact 1.86GHz running Ubuntu 8.04. Both the 5.04 & 8.04 Ubuntu's can see the other computers(0 bytes) but can not interact with them including each other. The workgroup is set the same to all and sharing is set up as well There are no passwords. At one time the 5.04 could interact but no longer can( out of date I suppose can't get updates any more). Oh the 5.04 has a MySQL database which all computers can interact with using an IP address through a DIR 625 router this is our business and is backed up fortunately. Can not connect using the other computer IP addresses and can only see the database on the 5.04. Still do not want to lose the database that is why I haven't upgraded that computer but that will be another story hopefully sooner than later, All computers have internet running through the router & a Netgear DS108 hub. Well there it is in a nut shell hope some one out there can help. Also I've read a lot of forums most of witch talk about Passwords, sharing, wireless, internet or Ubuntu 9.04 so sorry if this is a repeater. Just tired of searching.