PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Slow updates kill linux for me..

PheelingSublime
July 2nd, 2009, 02:45 AM
Well..Im new to ubuntu but as far as i can tell its always behind on updates.i had to update pidgin on my own and transmission,Now firefox isnt updated to 3.5.i guess i should wait a week or when ever it will be done.Now i know why ubuntu is free..I read all the post on how to do it myself,But im lazy and even if windows is suppose to suck ,at least its easy to update for dumb people like me..Good luck linux..

Erik765
July 2nd, 2009, 02:55 AM
? So, what you're saying is that Windows is automatically going to update Firefox for you?

I'm confused.

The nice thing about modern distros is that any software you have installed from the repositories notifies you upon available updates.

Oh well. I don't know about you, but I'd rather deal with stability and my software being updated than Viruses-Intrusions-Spyware-Trojans-Adware. Aka, Vista.

Personal preference I guess.

Geoff918
July 2nd, 2009, 02:57 AM