PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Questions related to my iBook G3

ppb7
July 1st, 2009, 02:23 PM
I have an iBook G3 with 128Mb RAM and running OS 9.2.2. after reading numerous threads from all over the place, I installed xubuntu Dapper and wanted to install the driver for the F5D8053 (I could only find version 3) Belkin wireless card. But my problem is that dapper doesn't seem to read the usb stick where the driver file is located or any other usb device for that matter. To be precise, i did manage to get it to read devices (a usb mouse and usb stick connected to a usb hub attached to the iBook, but the file manager crashed/froze after I'd unmounted a usb disk. Am I doing anything wrong? Or are there files that I should reconfigure? As a newbie, I don't where things are :(:?:

usb devices seem to be connected now, but applications open very slowly if at all. and the driver executable file won't execute.
BTW, the time alway reverts to January 1904 every time I switch the machine back on

MikeTheC
July 1st, 2009, 07:06 PM
Well, I can't speak to most of what you've asked, but if the time keeps resetting then my guess is you've got a notebook battery issue. Unlike desktop computers, notebooks do NOT contain a CMOS backup battery. They use one or multiple capacitors which draw their power from the battery that runs the laptop.

Now, if what you're talking about *is* a dead laptop battery, you can search for them and probably find one. however, you also have to ask how much money you really want to invest vs. just buy a new laptop.

ppb7
July 2nd, 2009, 01:24 PM
Well, I can't speak to most of what you've asked, but if the time keeps resetting then my guess is you've got a notebook battery issue. Unlike desktop computers, notebooks do NOT contain a CMOS backup battery. They use one or multiple capacitors which draw their power from the battery that runs the laptop.