PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cabextract confusion

to25
June 30th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Hi i am completely new to linux and i am trying to install a wireless driver using ndiswrapper and the site i am following tell me to uninstall the driver with cabextract or unshield. I installed it but i can figue out how to use it. I see that it installed in synaptic but no where else. please see me as a complete noob to computers let alone linux. thanks

spcwingo
July 1st, 2009, 02:36 AM
Cabextract is a terminal program. Open a terminal (applications>accessories>terminal) and type:

cabextract -d /directory_to_extract_to/ /path_to_cabinet/

BTW, what card are you trying to get going? To find out, just run this command:

lspci

if it's internal, or:

lsusb

if it's a USB card. Either way let us know how it turns out, or if you need more help.

3rdalbum
July 1st, 2009, 03:55 AM
Like what spcwingo said, but I'll point out that you can drag folders and files to the terminal and it will automatically fill in their path.

So, you can type:

"cabextract -d "

and before pressing Enter, drag the destination folder to the terminal, and then drag the .cab file to the terminal. Click on the terminal to bring it to the front again, and press Enter.

to25
July 1st, 2009, 04:06 AM
Well I was going to start another thread if this didn't work but maybe you could help me out. I tried to follow alot of sites to install b43 or ndiswrapper but I may not be doing it right. I am working with:

gateway 7405gx
broadcom bcm4306 802.11b/g wireless lan controller (rev 03)
ubuntu (jaunty)

Now jaunty comes with b43 driver and i installed b43 fwcutter via the terminal, activated b43 driver, and then went and modprobe "sudo modprobe b43" but thats as far as I got because I could not find any other instuction and that did not work. tried several time but the only thing that happens is that the wireless icon lights up on my keyboard as if it is on but the wireless still doesn't work.