PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mesk...?

AlwaysBenji
June 30th, 2009, 03:56 AM
Hello Friends,

I have been running EasyPeasy on my Asus EeePC for about 5 weeks and it's working perfectly. However, I have not been able to find a multimedia player that suits my needs and wants nearly as much as Foobar which I used on the Windoze platform. I am using Quod Libet and while it is a very nice little player, I really want tabbed browsing. So a week ago I found Mesk, which to my knowledge has not been updated since 2007, but which has tabbed browsing like Foobar.

The problem is the dependencies. Every time I "./configure" it tells me that a dependency is missing so I try to rectify it and get a little further into the process the next time where it seems to inevitably hit another dependency brick wall :(

This is what I am getting atm, keeping in mind I am pretty new to Linux...

"checking if /usr/bin/python is version >= 2.4... yes
checking for pygtk... yes
checking for librsvg... yes
checking for gstpython... configure: error: Package requirements (gst-python-0.10 >= 0.10.3) were not met:

Package gstreamer-0.10 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gstreamer-0.10.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'gstreamer-0.10', required by 'gst-python', not found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables gstpython_CFLAGS
and gstpython_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details."

Any assitance would be greatly appreciated :D

pelle.k
August 16th, 2009, 07:50 AM
If only i had seen this sooner. Getdeb.net used to host mesk for ubuntu. Dont know why they removed it though...
Anyways, i used to build mesk for myself, and i have still got it lying around. If it's too late than maybe someone else have a use for it.