PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Externel HDD Problem HELP

mraza08
June 29th, 2009, 11:31 PM
hi please i am new to ubuntu. i installed it from windows xp as dual boot on my 2nd hard drive. i have 3 hard drives, 2 internal and one external. in first hard drive i installed XP and in 2nd i installed ubuntu and in my external HDD i store my all Data for backup. now i am not sure what i did but my external hard drive has a lot of problems. first it only shows 10 mb with FAT file system in explorer in XP windows and in disk management it shows the correct size about 47.GB as actual size is 500GB and in ubuntu there are very wierd named files like "â=+FrÅ┤
.C" and "π∙^u▀?a .█x" and many more.. please help me this drive has all of my data about 350+GB ...i really appericiate of your help.

oh GOD i will have big loss with this :(

Edit: when i see in drive properties i see File System as vfat(F12) of this drive...please help me ...thanks

starcraft.man
June 30th, 2009, 12:42 AM
Did you ever touch it at all with any partitioning tools like the Ubuntu partitioner or gparted? If you had 3 drives, there'd have been multiple options to install to, your certain you installed to the correct internal drive? Any power outages during recent write operations to the external drive? Did you do anything in particular immediately before the drive failure started happening? Did you ever have any trouble before reading it in windows explorer or with nautilus?

Ok, that's all the questions that immediately popped into my head. From what you said, I'm thinking it's a drive failure (data corruption of some sort or physical failure). Happens to everyone eventually. To get data off might take some work, do you know what connector the drive uses? Is it a SATA (if it's new) if it's more than a few years it's an old IDE drive. Do you have a free slot in your current PC to support the connector it's using? As well as a free power cable to go to it?