PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] combination of metacity/compiz problems

plasm980
June 29th, 2009, 11:12 PM
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the Ubuntu thing, but I've learned a LOT by searching this forum over the last several months. I've recently come up against a series of problems that I can't seem to claw out of, and it's driving me nuts. Any help would be much appreciated.

Background:

I have Ubuntu 9.04 with an NVIDA 9600M GT, using the nvidia-glx-180 drivers. My xorg.conf file contains:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
Option "GlyphCache" "1"
Option "InitialPixmapPlacement" "2"
EndSection

Symptoms:

1) I used to use compiz to have all of the neat animation effects. However, I was having issues with blocks of text not appearing in my gvim windows when I PgUp/PgDown through a file (it would just be black where there should have been text). Moving the window itself would get the text to appear, so I figured it was a compositing or window manager problem.

2) I switched from compiz to metacity by going to System->Preference->Appearance->Visual Effects and selecting "None". This solved the problem of text mysteriously not appearing in my gvim windows. However, it also caused Xorg to start using a LOT of CPU for simple tasks such as scrolling in Firefox or moving windows around the screen. In fact, when I first log into my Gmail account, Xorg pins one of my cores to 100% for a full 10-15 seconds (used 'top' to check) as it renders my inbox. Another symptom is Xorg pegs to 100% when I scroll up and down pretty much any webpage in Firefox. Both of these operations used to be trivial under compiz, so it's not a Firefox problem.

3) Now I am unable to switch from metacity back to compiz. If I try to select "Normal" or "Extra" in the Appearance Preferences dialog box, I get an "Desktop effects could not be enabled" message. If I run "compiz --replace" in a terminal window, I get

Checking for Xgl: not present.