PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub & Windows XP

ubseamus
June 29th, 2009, 12:21 AM
Hi guys,

I'm new to the ubuntu family. Exciting...

Anyway. I have a new 64bit notebook from MSI & I'm running Ubuntu 9.04. The machine came with Vista, & I installed 8.04 along side vista & was booting both for a while. I also loaded XP64 and wanted to upgrade to ubuntu 9.04. Did a clean install not an upgrade & I also wanted to get rid of vista & ubntu 8.04. So I deleted the partitions for what I didn't want & added a new one for Ubuntu 9.04.

Grub is loading Ubuntu, but it doesn't see XP. The partition is still there & I can mount it from Ubuntu, but I can't boot in XP.

Can I setup grub to load windows with my current setup? or is this going to call for an os install again?

Thanks guys, hope sombody can help?

):P

Saint_
June 29th, 2009, 12:29 AM
Yeah, do this by going into the terminal and typing
sudo kate /boot/grub/menu.lstFrom there scroll to the bottom of the file and put the following after ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

title Windows XP
root (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Now reboot and hit ESC when the grub boot loader launches and you'll see Windows XP at the bottom of the list.

Edit: http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_linux_and_windows_xp_linux_instal led_first.htm?page=5

That's the url with step by step instructions along with pictures, just incase ya need it.

merlinus
June 29th, 2009, 12:33 AM
Since the OP is running ubuntu, better do this:

gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

Also, to be certain which partition xp is on, post results of:

sudo fdisk -l

telescopic
June 29th, 2009, 05:30 PM
I want to join in. I had similar problem as Ubseamus. The worst is that the xp partition (drive) does not even appear in Ubuntu. How to mount the XP partition in command line of Ubuntu? I tried following 1):

mkdir /media/window
mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/window

it gives:

''Unexpected clusters per mft record (-1).