PDA

View Full Version : Which is the most perspective programming language ?

credobyte
June 28th, 2009, 02:25 AM
Ok, so .. It's been a while when I first started to learn programming and it's time to choose - what do I need. In the last few months I've tried almost all languages ( just kidding ) - C, C++, Java, Python. Everything looks nice and I've found a few great things in all of these languages, BUT, I'm not sure about one thing .. which one is the most perspective language for starting to build up my career as a programmer ( I've been working with PHP for 5 years and looks like it's a *waste of time* ) ?
I know, it can take a while, but, I need your opinion. What would you choose ? Which one should be ( and "will" be ) the hottest ( job opportunities ) language in the future ( 5, 10 years .. ) ?

Note: This is not another "best programming language" thread. I'm interested in long-term benefits.

monkeyking
June 28th, 2009, 03:57 AM
It depends on what you want to do,
and your overall background.

Ff you are inclined for webstuff,
learn c# or whatever ppl are using these days.

If you are into largescale numbercrushing then c/c++.

One thing that will benifit you alot would be shell scripting.

soltanis
June 28th, 2009, 04:02 AM
Definitely depends on sub-specialty like above poster said. Different industries use different software. If you're working Business stuff, accounting, systems analysis and stuff, you might use COBOL or FORTRAN; in the games industry, C++ is the dominant language; in interactive web stuff, there's a huge variety from traditional CGI/webserver admin stuff like Perl up to C#, python, ruby, Java. Research the field you are looking to get in to (the best way is to look at jobs listings to see what companies are looking for) and go with that language.

credobyte
June 28th, 2009, 04:57 AM
in the games industry, C++ is the dominant language