PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] macbook pro 1.1: reFit doesn't see ubuntu partition anymore!



gagginaspinnata
June 27th, 2009, 09:38 AM
Hi man,
I had ubuntu 9.04 installed on a macbook pro (1.1) intel core duo 1.83ghz.
Everything went great. When reinstalled windwos xp (I've triple boot), don't know why, refit doesn't see the ubuntu partition anymore!
I've cheked in mac osx the disk utility and, as you can see above, the linux partition is still here :P
http://img.skitch.com/20090627-gbsc4gmp7ufwtc7w7rqca1n7nm.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/gagginaspinnata/biadb/immagine-1)Click for full size (http://skitch.com/gagginaspinnata/biadb/immagine-1) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)


How could I fix this issue?

Richardcavell
June 27th, 2009, 09:54 AM
Hi.

First, don't repartition! Don't mess with your partitions at all.

Secondly, reinstall GRUB. Use the Live CD and follow these instructions: http://www.sorgonet.com/linux/grubrestore/

Third try to reboot. If you get 'No boot medium found', then you need to use gptsync.efi from the rEFIt menu.

If it's still not working, boot into OS X and make sure that rEFIt is blessed, and on your internal hard disk (best to keep it on your OS X partition I reckon).

Richard

gagginaspinnata
June 27th, 2009, 01:20 PM
Hi.

First, don't repartition! Don't mess with your partitions at all.

Secondly, reinstall GRUB. Use the Live CD and follow these instructions: http://www.sorgonet.com/linux/grubrestore/

Third try to reboot. If you get 'No boot medium found', then you need to use gptsync.efi from the rEFIt menu.

If it's still not working, boot into OS X and make sure that rEFIt is blessed, and on your internal hard disk (best to keep it on your OS X partition I reckon).

Richard

Firt of all I'd like to thank you :D

I'm writing you from the ubuntu 9.04 live cd. Following the guide you've linked when i prompt
root (hd0,1) (I've tried also "sudo" instead of root) it says

completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]

grub> root (hd0,1)

Error 21: Selected disk does not exist

grub> sudo (hdo,1)

Error 27: Unrecognized command

grub> sudo (sda3,3)

Error 27: Unrecognized command

grub> sudo (sda,1)

Error 27: Unrecognized command

grub> root (sda3,1)

Error 23: Error while parsing number

grub>

And as you can see I've tried even "sda3" instead of hd0 cause sda3 is the partition where ubuntu is located:(
There is any other way?

Richardcavell
June 27th, 2009, 02:46 PM
Hi,

The 'root' command here has nothing to do with sudo.

1. Boot into your Live CD.
2. Go into a Terminal.
3. Type 'sudo grub' [from a Live CD you shouldn't need a password]
4. Type 'find /boot/grub/stage1'

It will give you something. I'm guessing for you it will say (hd0,3)

5. Type 'root (hd0,3)' (or use the numbers it just gave you)
6. Type 'setup (hd0,3)' (or use the numbers it gave you)
7. Type 'quit'
8. Now shut down and reboot.

I see that you're using Italian, but I don't think that changes anything. The commands that you've quoted above are harmless and meaningless. The error messages are expected. You don't have a partition numbered 1 on your hard disk. Somehow you've managed to end up with 0, 3,4 and the swap partition, which could be 2 or 5. The hard disk is hd0 and the partitions are hd0,0 through to hd0,4 or hd0,5 depending on what the swap partition is numbered. sda0 is a device file, and that's not relevant here.

Richard

gagginaspinnata
June 28th, 2009, 11:14 AM
Hi,

The 'root' command here has nothing to do with sudo.

1. Boot into your Live CD.
2. Go into a Terminal.
3. Type 'sudo grub' [from a Live CD you shouldn't need a password]
4. Type 'find /boot/grub/stage1'

It will give you something. I'm guessing for you it will say (hd0,3)

5. Type 'root (hd0,3)' (or use the numbers it just gave you)
6. Type 'setup (hd0,3)' (or use the numbers it gave you)
7. Type 'quit'
8. Now shut down and reboot.

I see that you're using Italian, but I don't think that changes anything. The commands that you've quoted above are harmless and meaningless. The error messages are expected. You don't have a partition numbered 1 on your hard disk. Somehow you've managed to end up with 0, 3,4 and the swap partition, which could be 2 or 5. The hard disk is hd0 and the partitions are hd0,0 through to hd0,4 or hd0,5 depending on what the swap partition is numbered. sda0 is a device file, and that's not relevant here.

Richard

Wow I fixed the issue following you guide! Very thanks Richard :D

PS
It gave me an error:
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/2905/setud.png
but everything seems to work right so there is no problem :)
Thanks again!

Richardcavell
June 28th, 2009, 11:24 PM
Hi,

Treat those messages as warnings, not as errors. The output is exactly what you should have got. I'm glad to hear that it's working now. Your partition numbering scheme is a little unusual, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Richard

gagginaspinnata
June 29th, 2009, 11:10 AM
Hi,

Treat those messages as warnings, not as errors. The output is exactly what you should have got. I'm glad to hear that it's working now. Your partition numbering scheme is a little unusual, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Richard


Thank you again, I'll let the partition as he is :guitar: