PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] User Access Problem

Belthazard
June 26th, 2009, 07:55 AM
Hi there, I am quite new to Linux and I have just installed Xubuntu 9.04 onto my Playstation 3 and am now having a problem doing anything.
I have no access to sudo or anything else that require administrator access.
When I type id into the terminal I get:
uid=1000(hayden) gid=1000(hayden) group=1000(hayden)
I have tried to add myself to the admin in group file from the live cd, however the cd I have does not give me the option to boot the live cd.
Also while installing, I was not given an option of whether or not to create an admin account, so am unsure whether one was defaultly made or not.

Can someone please help me to get admin user control on my account?

tommcd
June 26th, 2009, 08:06 AM
While I know nothing about the particulars of installing Ubuntu onto the Playstation 3, I can point you in the right direction to troubleshoot the sudo problem. See this page from Asiyu's Ubuntu site about editing the /etc/sudoers file:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/fixsudo

And welcome to the Ubuntu forums!! Welcome to the cool side of computing!

Belthazard
June 26th, 2009, 08:11 AM
Thank you for the warm welcome.
I will try booting into recovery mode and looking into the group file

Belthazard
June 26th, 2009, 08:23 AM
I seem to be unable to boot into recovery mode.
Pressing escape during boot up only brings up a few weird characters.

tommcd
June 26th, 2009, 08:25 AM
I will try booting into recovery mode and looking into the group file
The actual file in question is the /etc/sudoers file.

Belthazard
June 26th, 2009, 08:28 AM
Ok how would I go about editing the contents of that file?

tommcd
June 26th, 2009, 08:52 AM
I seem to be unable to boot into recovery mode.
Pressing escape during boot up only brings up a few weird characters.