PDA

View Full Version : Guides to guides

andrew-sayers
June 25th, 2009, 10:31 PM
Over in the Feedback+Help forum, I've suggested (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195975) we create a sticky full of "how to follow instructions" guides. These would talk absolute beginners through some of the common tasks involved in following forum instructions - things like pasting commands into a terminal, or saving to a text file. I think this would get a lot of beginners over the initial "what are these magic codes and how do I chant them?" stage. To show what I'm talking about, I've created an example guide (http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=7517429) for running terminal commands.

What do you guys all think? If you write your own guides, would you link to instructions like these? What basic instructions would you have liked when you were starting out? Or is the whole idea fatally flawed in some way I don't understand?

- Andrew

starcraft.man
June 25th, 2009, 10:37 PM
Problem 1: Getting people to read stickied guides.

billgoldberg
June 25th, 2009, 10:38 PM
You don't need a guide to guides.

The guide itself should be written clearly so even the most inexperienced users can follow it.

ratcheer
June 25th, 2009, 10:51 PM
What I would like is just a guide that lists and points to all other guides. Like a catalog of guides.

Tim

ajgreeny
June 25th, 2009, 11:19 PM
Try this site, which I used a lot when I first started with Ubuntu 5.04. The guide seems to be updated each time a new version of Ubuntu appears.
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Jaunty

magmon
June 25th, 2009, 11:32 PM
You don't need a guide to guides.

The guide itself should be written clearly so even the most inexperienced users can follow it.

+1

A guide to reading guides would be nearly as pointless as a book about how to read.

CJ Master
June 25th, 2009, 11:37 PM
Are people really THAT dumb to need a guide on how to read guides...?

andrew-sayers
June 26th, 2009, 01:04 AM