PDA

View Full Version : Yet another Linux Newbie

nuttycat
January 20th, 2006, 09:10 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to Linux but not to computers or the internet. Circumstance including where i stay, kept me in the windows world for the last 10 years (got my first pc in '96). I am pretty good at c/c++. I would not go to the extent of calling myself a power user in windows, but i can say that i am nearing that. I got ubuntu-breezy badger installed onto a seperate partition without much hitches. Now i find myself taking the first steps into Linux.

My main initial hitch was for about 2-hrs, a session which i spent figuring out how to get GRUB to load windows as default and not Ubuntu. (This is a home pc, and parents use only windows.), another friend who knows more linux than me, gave me the general idea of how to get to grub's configuration file. For some reason, I find that the Ubuntu distro calls it menu.lst rather than grub.conf that everyone on the web seems to call it. (menu.lst doesn't seem to be a soft link to grub.conf. is it?)

anyway, that got sorted out. searching the web for that brought me here. This looks like an excellent place to be in. Really useful and friendly advice. Thanks all.

well that's it. you will probably see a lot of me in the newbie forums as i get Ubuntu working. Looks like its going to be an interesting challenge!

see you all around,
Regards,
-Computernut

ajgreeny
January 20th, 2006, 10:12 AM
Welcome to Ubuntu and linux.

I'm a relative newcomer to both like you (since June 2005) but have found these forums a superb way to get information from people who know their way around problems, or have found tricks to make life easier for new users. I've now got to the point where I could get rid of my windows XP, but at the moment I won't because
a) I,ve already paid for it, and
b) I don't need the disk space either.
It does mean however that I will never need to buy another windows version but can stick to this wonderful world of Ubuntu.