PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Did I delete my OS?

PartsMan
June 24th, 2009, 04:57 PM
PartsMan here. First off I am a total newb to linux.

Loaded 8.04 on a Dell 2400 that was given to me after I cleared the hard drive.

Everything was working fine so I decided to mess with it.

Tried to do my first partition. Made a partition of the last 60g of my 80g hard drive leaving the first 20 "unalocated".

Now when I turn on the computer I get.

Error 17

How do I go about fixing this?

izizzle
June 24th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Take a look HERE (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=442945).

raymondh
June 24th, 2009, 05:12 PM
PartsMan here. First off I am a total newb to linux.

Loaded 8.04 on a Dell 2400 that was given to me after I cleared the hard drive.

Everything was working fine so I decided to mess with it.

Tried to do my first partition. Made a partition of the last 60g of my 80g hard drive leaving the first 20 "unalocated".

Now when I turn on the computer I get.

Error 17

How do I go about fixing this?

Let me try to 'visualize' this ..

You installed 8.04 and then partitioned " the last 60GB of my 80GB hard drive".... if so, and the partitioning was successful, you have written over the 8.04 install.

If that is right ..... time for a new, fresh installation.

Some links for reference

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=282018&highlight=separate+%2Fdata+partition
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry/resize/resizing.htm

Good luck.

PartsMan
June 24th, 2009, 06:06 PM
By leaving the first 20g unalocated I deleted it?

Can I load back to the first part or just the 60g partition?

raymondh
June 24th, 2009, 09:51 PM
Hello Partsman,

I'm going by this sentence

Made a partition of the last 60g of my 80g hard drive leaving the first 20 "unalocated"