PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Total Newbie

Tclynch
June 24th, 2009, 12:50 PM
Ok, so I'm giving Ubuntu a try. I downloaded 9 and burned the disc. Loaded it and allowed it t make it's own partition (btw, I am running Vista Home Premium, 320 gig HD, 3 gig ram, dual core) and so far, I am having these problems-

1) I allowed it to download some updates, but have been unable to install them due to not enough space on the disc. What???

2) I have noticed that I have problems with using Wifi. Basically, I have to be closer to my router to get wifi to work with Ubuntu...

3) Firefox- the "Back" button and the Bookmarks does not seem to work.

Any help for this newbi????

Snoober
June 24th, 2009, 01:22 PM
1) How much space did you allow for the Ubuntu partition?
2) Check out https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WiFiHowTo
3) Try re-installing Firefox (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html).

ddrichardson
June 24th, 2009, 01:25 PM
Ok, so I'm giving Ubuntu a try. I downloaded 9 and burned the disc. Loaded it and allowed it t make it's own partition (btw, I am running Vista Home Premium, 320 gig HD, 3 gig ram, dual core) and so far, I am having these problems-

1) I allowed it to download some updates, but have been unable to install them due to not enough space on the disc. What???
Can you open a terminal (Applications->Accessories->Terminal) and post the output after typing
df
2) I have noticed that I have problems with using Wifi. Basically, I have to be closer to my router to get wifi to work with Ubuntu...Does this only happen with Ubuntu?

Tclynch
June 25th, 2009, 01:14 AM
I allowed Ubuntu to set up the partition. I don't remember seeing a screen asking me how big of a partition. Did I miss something or do I need t reinstall Ubuntu?
Yes, when I am using Vista, I have a longer range with my home wifi than with using Ubuntu.

Snoober
June 26th, 2009, 01:30 PM