PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Problem uninstalling/reinstalling after first install failed

AcousticMinja
June 23rd, 2009, 08:45 PM
Hi all, I am quite new to Linux. I've heard about Ubuntu/Kubuntu for a while and I decided that I would try it for myself. I recently received a new hard drive and decided I would dual boot Vista and either Ubuntu or Kubuntu (whichever I got first). I downloaded wubi and tried installing Kubuntu from there. I made the huge mistake of clicking on my E: drive which had windows 7 on it. I cancelled the installation after I realized what I did and then restored my computer to the settings right before my installation attempt. I received my Kubuntu CD and decided to install from there(just incase wubi didn't work). I was given the option to boot from the CD to install on a separate partition...I clicked that and checked "reboot now". After that, I clicked finish hoping it would automatically restart. Nothing happened. So then I tried clicking "help boot from CD"...then the error message came up saying that a previous version of Ubuntu was installed on my E: drive and it would'nt let me install Kubuntu on my F:drive. I searched the forums and found a link to this program that allows you to uninstall ubuntu. After opening, nothing happened. I tried doing the same thing a few times and I got the same outcome. I assumed maybe it already worked. So then I tried installing again and I received the same message. I looked in my E: folder and I can't find E:/ubuntu or anything. Is there something I forgot to do? Or should I reformat my E:drive?
Please let me know what I should do.
Thank you for your time! :)

*update*
I reformatted my E: and F: drives and attempted to install again...the same exact error message comes up. This is getting very frustrating.

presence1960
June 24th, 2009, 04:31 AM