PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network autoconfiguration failed & simple (local) dev server setup

Palu
June 23rd, 2009, 05:39 PM
Issues solved: I had the ethernet cable unplugged. Since I wasn't sure how to correct things, I simply reinstalled the OS.

During an Ubuntu Server 9.04 install, I got the error message...

Your network is probably not using the DHCP protocol. Alternatively, the DHCP server may be slow or some network hardware is not working properly.

I selected the option...

Do not configure the metwork at this time

From what I can tell, this is not an intended result from the tutorial site I'm using. :D I don't know what it means, but I suspect it means I don't have network connectivity. This is my first attempt in a few years outside the GUI, so I'm not even sure how to test that.

Hardware:
-An Everex cheapo machine from Walmart (originally with gOS).
-a 2Wire router
-my personal PC (runs Vista, sorry :()

Selections during setup included LAMP and Samba.

Goals:
-use the server as a file server
-AND a dev server for testing php scripts. I'll need to FTP to it from my personal PC, I imagine. FTP from external locations would be nice, but I suppose I don't have a static IP address. If I get one, that will be later.
-It only needs to be able to be accessed within my local network.

Bachstelze
June 23rd, 2009, 06:01 PM
The message you're getting simply means that the installer couldn't find any DHCP rserver running on your network. If you are sure your router has DHCP enable, this could indeed be a connectivity problem. Do you know whethet your router has DHCP enabled?

Gone fishing
June 23rd, 2009, 06:12 PM
Were you connected to a router or something that would assign an IP address? If not you should have done it manually and given it an IP address during install.

However, you could give it an IP address now vi /etc/network/interfaces and make it look something like

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.2