PDA

View Full Version : noob question about using Geany

chipppy
June 22nd, 2009, 03:51 PM
Good Evening

I am a noob to programming and I am trying to learn C++. Reading through the book it is all good so far.

i am running Ubuntu 9.04 and Geany 0.17

My problem is with using Geany IDE.
I have tried to run the classic Hello World program, all compiled OK but I have run into a permission problem when I tried to execute it.

./geany_run_script.sh: 5 ./learning C++:Permission Denied

This is my code

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout << "Hello World!";
cin.get();
return 0;
}

I checked the permissions for the file and all looks good, both read and write permission.

Can any please tell me what permission Geany is refering to so that I can fix this up and get my simple project to work.

Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated.

Cheers
chipppy

xtjacob
June 22nd, 2009, 03:52 PM
Did you allow it to be executed?

credobyte
June 22nd, 2009, 04:29 PM
1) You are running Geany as root ( sudo geany myapp.cpp )
2) You are saving files to root folder and trying to execute it as a user ( not root ).

Anyway, this will fix your problem :

sudo chmod +x your_application

Zugzwang
June 22nd, 2009, 04:35 PM
@OP: Is it possible that you called the executable of your program "learning C++"? If so, please rename it in order not to contain any spaces. This frequently causes troubles with programs and scripts which do not add the proper escaping sequences to such names.

chipppy
June 23rd, 2009, 02:37 AM
Good morning

I have some answers and a new question

First I started a new project and this time I used underscores instead of spaces. The program word perfectly this time. Thanks heaps for that.
I will have to get used to the coding style of underscores instead of spaces.

When I start Geany I use Applications => Programming => Geany.
Should I change this?
If yes, what would you recommend that I do to allow Geany to start in the proper mode?