PDA

View Full Version : Indie Linux Game Studio

Sigurd Suhm
June 22nd, 2009, 12:25 PM
Hello everyone

My name is Sigurd Suhm and I am a hobby game developer. I have a passion for game programming especially and for some reason that passion has grown even stronger after moving to Linux.
By now I've read quite a lot of discussions about the current state of gaming in Linux and I figured this would be a great place for me to try and contribute to the community. After all the whole idea of an open source community is basically that everyone can help out.

Lately I've been having trouble coming up with new ideas and finding out where to go to keep pushing myself forward in programming. And that's when I figured it would be fun to see if anyone would be up for giving it a shot at a small casual indie Linux game studio. What I'm looking for is basically just someone to program and develop with. Personally I'm just thinking casual 2 and 3D games made for the Linux platform. Of course making ports for other platforms would definately be possible.

If anyone should be interested then by all means go ahead and let me know. You could reply here or throw me a mail at:
sigurdsuhm (at) hotmail (dot) com

On a more technical side note I'm mainly using C/C++ but I do have some experience with other things like VB, C#, Java and a bit of Assembly. I was thinking for Linux the best way to go would probably be SDL and OpenGL.

Happy programming and Linux'ing everyone
Regards
Sigurd

curvedinfinity
June 23rd, 2009, 05:07 AM
Hey Sigurd, on behalf of the community, thanks for looking to help! Do you have any experience making games? If you don't, I must warn you that it can take a long time to make games, especially if you are learning everything you need to know along the way.