PDA

View Full Version : ever gotten a free computer?

mamamia88
June 22nd, 2009, 12:59 AM
i put an advertisment on craigslist saying i would take an old computer off peoples hands to experiment with xubuntu and i've gotten a few replies so far just wondering if you have ever done anything like this?

BslBryan
June 22nd, 2009, 01:02 AM
I actually have. I received a Dell Optiplex Gxi with Compaq monitor (built-in mic) and HP Deskjet 712C printer. It's certainly not great, but it was still nice to get for tinkering purposes.

It was very nice of them to give it to me.

Daisuke_Aramaki
June 22nd, 2009, 01:02 AM
i have no experience like yours. but i got four sparc machines free. they were about to be destroyed by a company in my neighborhood, so i asked them if i could take them, and they were more than happy.

Dark Aspect
June 22nd, 2009, 01:03 AM
i put an advertisment on craigslist saying i would take an old computer off peoples hands to experiment with xubuntu and i've gotten a few replies so far just wondering if you have ever done anything like this?

No, but its not a bad idea if someone is trying to rid of a computer, I should try it. I have, however, dug computers out of the trash :D

Sealbhach
June 22nd, 2009, 01:04 AM
No, it's a good idea though. A lot of people don't like throwing electronics away, they'd rather someone was making use of it, and I guess some people might be worried about the environmental regulations about disposing of computers so it would be a relief to them to just hand the thing over to somebody else.

mamamia88
June 22nd, 2009, 01:07 AM
yeah i already ordered a new lcd for my ps3 figured i might as well see if i can get an old machine running xubuntu halfway decent

HappyFeet
June 22nd, 2009, 01:09 AM