PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for scripting please

mtbsoft
June 21st, 2009, 02:28 PM
Hi all,

Just wanting a little advice about best choice of scripting languages please...

I recently signed up to prepaid mobile broadband (12Gb quota over a 12 month period, with 3) for when I am unable to use my client's or work's wireless. I'm wanting to create a small script which I can use in conky to show my bandwidth usage so that I don't run out without warning - all automatic communication with 3 is stupidly via SMS(!), not email.

I've set up vnstat to monitor the mobile connection and can get at the vnstat data in monthly (or raw) format but I need to add the values up then deduct it from my total allowance, finally formatting it for conky.

So, before I start down the track of writing the script, I'd appreciate advice on the most suitable scripting language for the job - I've been writing software for well over 20 years but mainly using a certain large monopoly's software (hangs head...) so have little coding experience in Linux.

I'm not wanting anyone to do the job for me - I'm looking forward to the task as it'll be the first real development (albeit small) I've done on Linux (which I've been using for two years).

I'd just like someone to suggest the better/best language to start looking at so I don't spend too long using the wrong one, before realising my mistake.

I'm guessing at Python, based on my experience with conky, but any advice will be much appreciated.

x22
June 21st, 2009, 03:32 PM
recommend "awk"--well designed for parsing lines, adding up
the numbers, doing arithmetic, and the formatted printing of
reports.

small, powerful, and easy to use

mtbsoft
June 21st, 2009, 04:12 PM
recommend "awk"--well designed for parsing lines, adding up
the numbers, doing arithmetic, and the formatted printing of
reports.

small, powerful, and easy to use

Excellent. Had a quick look at some on-line resources and I can see what you mean, looks just the ticket.