PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Booting Vista and Ubuntu Problem

kenlow
June 21st, 2009, 01:21 PM
Ok this is my first time do a dual boot so please take it easy on me :)
Ok so i installed Ubuntu latest one downloaded about 3 hours ago and then installed vista i want the vista bootloader using neogrub to boot into ubuntu but i lost the menu.lst files to enter into the boot loader setting on neogrub

Can anyone with the latest version please do a
sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst and copy and paste her so i can boot into ubuntu please :)

Thank you

x22
June 21st, 2009, 03:51 PM
welcome to the forum

when dual booting with a Microsoft OS, the golden rule
is "install Microsoft OS first"

1. install vista
2. cut back the NTFS partition with "gparted"
3. install ubuntu

doughemi426
June 21st, 2009, 05:18 PM
OK, i've installed XP and Ubuntu in this order, but because of a problem with xp, y had to get format and reinstall XP. The choosing screen of SO doesn´t appear no more and starts automatically XP. What can I do to restore the grub boot?, cause it was in the main partition. Help please.

dr

merlinus
June 21st, 2009, 05:47 PM
First of all, don't hijack someone else's thread. Start your own.

And when you do, run from the live cd, open a terminal, and post results of:

sudo fdisk -l

TristanDee
June 21st, 2009, 06:44 PM

1. install vista
3. install ubuntu

I've also read about this "shrinking" of the Vista installation partition for installing Ubuntu. Can anyone please explain why to do this instead of installing Ubuntu/Linux on a separate partition like before!

merlinus
June 21st, 2009, 07:19 PM
Most people either install, or buy a computer where it is already installed, on the entire hdd. So it becomes necessary to defrag and use vista's disk management tool to shrink its partition and make space for linux.

TristanDee
June 21st, 2009, 07:47 PM