PDA

View Full Version : EEEPC 901 problems

gno1209
June 21st, 2009, 12:16 PM
Hi, I am new to Ubuntu. I just installed Ubuntu Netbook remix 9.04. After installation, it was working fine, I switched to Desktop mode and installed all updates, after rebooting, there was nothing but the background on the screen (I left it on for 20 minutes and still nothing). So I reformatted again and this time I only updated Firefox and rebooted, same thing happened. Any ideas how I can get it to work? Thanks for any suggestions.

CoffeaRobusta
June 28th, 2009, 02:11 AM
I am experiencing very similar problems. Installed Jaunty 9.04 UNR on to a eeepc 900a. I also switched to the regular ubuntu desktop. Worked beautifully, except for flash content even after doing all the install firefox promted me for. Well the update manager kept popping up and asking if I wanted to do the updates (some of which were important, some only reccomended). I picked through and unselected the ones that seemed relavant (I don't have bluetooth for example). Nearly 100 MB later, I restart only to find the desktop background....no bar on top....no icons...nada. Right-click still pulled up a menu and I could create folders. Function key (F3 i think) pulled up the help window but it looked a little funny.

Restarting and going into the grub menu I saw that I now had the choice of 2 different kernels, as well as recovery options on both. Tried to load the newest kernal in recovery mode....but all options yeilded the same result. Tried to load the older kernel with same result.

I guess I could solve the problem by not doing the updates, but I would really like to get flash working on here. Any help out there?

I am a windows refugee that has only recently tried linux. The only other linux-based OS I have tried is puppy (installed on an old pII gateway solo, dualing booting with win 98se. So far, I have been very impressed with ubuntu until now. I would really like to get ubuntu running on my netbook.

thanks,