PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation failures, help needed

Werrf
June 21st, 2009, 04:18 AM
Hi, newbie here, experienced with Windows but just starting out with Linux and about ready to smash things with installation failures.

After much hemming and hawing, I finally decided to go ahead and try installing Ubuntu as a dual-boot on my old Windows XP machine. Running from the live CD went fine, so I went ahead and installed. Installation was fine, all was hunky-dory until I tried to boot back into Windows, which resulted in a freeze on boot. I tried reinstalling Windows, but no joy - now neither OS would boot. So I went ahead and re-installed Ubuntu. The problem was that I could not get Ubuntu to go back onto the same partition it was on before - it insisted on creating a new partition.

Okay, I can live with a little lost disk space from an extra partition, so I went ahead. After instllation, I was informed of an update, which I ran. Big mistake. The update failed somehow, and was unable to boot into the OS. It gave me the mouse cursor and a blank screen, nothing else.

So, foolishly, I decided to re-install instead of asking for help. That's when all hell broke loose. I have now ended up with ELEVEN partitions, and the last two attempts at installation failed due to insufficient disk space. I can't delete any of the partitions with the partition manager, because each one tells me I must delete the partition with a higher number. The one with the highest number doesn't give me the delete option at all. Windows is still not working, Ubuntu is still not working, and I'm about ready to throw my computer through the walls.

Help?

Apologies if there are answers to this in other threads, I'm just too aggravated andtired to find anything right now - I will cheerfully delete this if you can point me in the right direction.

wanderingarticfox
June 21st, 2009, 04:29 AM