PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Need advice for partitioning and multiboot

Hilko
June 20th, 2009, 09:22 PM
Hi, I am kind of new to installing linux and could use some help or advice. I'm about to reinstall my laptop and wish to install the following operating systems;

Windows Vista
Ubuntu (latest stable version)
Backtrack 3
Ubuntu Studio

Furthermore I wish to have a seperate /home partition and have some flexability to maybe add another OS later.
Now I have the following questions:

1) Can I use the same /home partition for Ubuntu, UbuntuStudio and Backtrack ? Or do they all need their own partition ?

2) Can the linux OS all share the same swap partition ?

3) If multiple OS's share the same /home, do I need to use different usernames or exactly the same username ?

4) Is it a good idea to have a seperate boot partition ? and why ?

5) Which filesystems would you recommend ?

6) Wich partitions should be primary and secondary ? what does it matter ?

7) Anything else I should think of ? (I've made backups)

Any awnser to some or all of these questions will be very much appreciated. It would be most helpful if some experienced user could just sketch a recommended partition table for this setup.
Many thanks !

ajgreeny
June 20th, 2009, 10:15 PM
Hi, I am kind of new to installing linux and could use some help or advice. I'm about to reinstall my laptop and wish to install the following operating systems;

Windows Vista
Ubuntu (latest stable version)
Backtrack 3
Ubuntu Studio

Furthermore I wish to have a seperate /home partition and have some flexability to maybe add another OS later.
Now I have the following questions:

1) Can I use the same /home partition for Ubuntu, UbuntuStudio and Backtrack ? Or do they all need their own partition ?

2) Can the linux OS all share the same swap partition ?

3) If multiple OS's share the same /home, do I need to use different usernames or exactly the same username ?