PDA

View Full Version : Which IDE for a newbie learning C++

chipppy
June 18th, 2009, 01:35 PM
Good Evening

I am a newbie to programming I have chosen to learn C++.
I have read through a book or two and now want to have a go at the writing of some programs (the exercises out of the books)

I read through the stick on IDE's and OMG there is such a huge choice. Which one is the question.

I have installed a few of the one discussed in the sticky and so far had no luck in getting the classic "hello world" to work.

I have tried to use Vim, MonoDevelop, Codelite, bluefish, code::blocks, Eclipse, Anjunta. different IDE have complained about different things.
Mono complained about missing bits. I think I need to download some stuff from Sun and install it but I dont really understand the instruction on how to do that.
code::blocks complained that there is nothing to build/run. and so on.

So obviously I need spend some time getting one to work and get my head around what is required to get it to work. But the question is which one.

I would love some advice as to which one to invest the time to get working and get my head around
I am looking for an IDE that is good for a newbie to use.
I will need to do lots of debugging so a good debugging tool is really important.
I would prefer t to be user friendly or at least logical.
I would love the IDE to have good documentation so I can read through the manual to learn ho to use it fully as I develop as a programmer.

As silly as this sound please think back to your newbie days and not about your current favourite IDE. What would you recommend to a newbie like me.

Any and all assistance is greatly appreciate.

Cheers
chipppy

Mirge
June 18th, 2009, 03:31 PM
Until you become more experienced with C++, stick with a very simple IDE or text editor. My recommendation is Geany (it's in repo's, but to get v0.17 you'll hafta compile from source or hit up launchpad.net). Install the GDB plugin if you want to debug programs too.